Hi again!

Bit of a gap in posting here isn’t there? Sorry about that. I would love to give some perfectly valid excuse but unfortunately all I can blame it on is life! Things have changed quite a lot since my last post two years ago. I finished the CELTA course, got a job in a private English school, stopped most other jobs in order to dedicate my hours to the school, and kept just a few babysitting hours for my old aupair host family (because I can never let them go). I also discovered the downside of living in a beautiful, quiet village: you have to commute to work. Hello hours on the bus, waiting for the bus, getting frustrated because the bus isn’t arriving and the timetable never matches my work timetable. 

That said, everything became different in the last few weeks, as you probably know and are quite possibly tired of hearing. Let’s welcome coronavirus to the stage. I’ll try to avoid getting into a rant about how ignorant people are (that might come out in a later post), and focus on the positive of all this: I have so much time to write now. No excuses. I’m still doing a little teaching online but a lot of students are opting just to wait for this whole thing to pass…whenever that will be…and so I’ve spent most of the last 3 weeks of quarantine thinking a lot about how I must start writing again, looking at paper, not writing anything, reading, starting to write, not liking it, etc, etc, etc. Sooo applause to the fact that I’m finally writing this? 

Anyway. I have a lot of ideas for future posts, I just need to get back in the swing of things. I would love to get back into the read-in-tranquility, but for obvious reasons this will have to wait a little (I don’t think you need a review of my porch or my living room). So in the meantime I’ll start to work on noting some interesting cultural and language differences, and if you’re not too sick of it I can give a few updates on the covid situation in Lombardy. I’m also working on some book reviews which you’ll hopefully find on my unwrittenshades site in the near future…if you don’t, hold me fully accountable and send me angry messages.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hi again!

  1. Italophilia says:

    Thinking of you and the rest of Italy..I know what you mean about having time in hand..A bit too much?! I’ll tell you that on Day 10. My family and I are under self quarantine but I don’t see as much seriousness here. Lot of people are doing what we are doing and govt is taking steps but its still not as much as it should be. We are on the same status as Italy was a couple of weeks ago but I know it will go crazy soon. I’m not prepared as I feel I’m in a dystopian novel 😦 Waiting for your future posts , meanwhile also thinking what to write myself 😉 ❤

    Like

    • sarahjoy says:

      Thank you! Good thinking for the self quarantine, it all makes a difference 🙂 hopefully all governments start taking more action soon…it has been very strange seeing other countries going in the same direction as Italy, hopefully they can learn something from us and prevent things quicker. I know what you mean about the dystopian novel! Even going to the shops is a creepy experience now…but at least it gets me out the house once a week!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment